Crewe gymnasts awarded special honour

The Cheshire Academy of Integrated Sports and Arts was filled with pride on Wednesday 27th January when Councillor Dennis Straine-Francis, Mayor of Crewe, presented a special Civic Honour.

Over 100 people looked on as the Great British Special Olympic Rhythmic Gymnastics Team consisting of local girls Kirsty Robertson, Laura Taylor, Sophie Hughes, Phoebe Low, Elizabeth Cooper and Felicity Martin along with coaches Jane Whetnall MBE and Sarah Oakley became the first recipients of the Town Councils newly established Roll of Honour.

The Award recognises outstanding achievement in Crewe and Crewe Town Councillors unanimously resolved that the Team should be honoured in recognition of their sporting achievements most notably whilst they participated at the Los Angeles Special Olympic World Games 2015.

Councillor Dennis Straine-Francis, Mayor of Crewe said ‘It was truly humbling to be able to present an outstanding award to an outstanding group of people.  It has been a pleasure to spend so much time at the Broad Street Project and see first-hand the wonderful work that goes on there, right at the heart of our community.  It really has been a highlight of my year as Mayor.’

The Team of eight girls, six of whom are from Crewe, competed at the XIV World Special Olympic Games in July 2015 and returned home with fourteen gold, seven silver and four bronze medals.

Amongst the many guests were the High Sheriff of Cheshire, Bill Holroyd, Cheshire East Councillors Janet Clowes and Sam Gardner, the Mayors of Knutsford, Middlewich, Nantwich and the Deputy Mayor of Cheshire East, Olivia Hunter.

Nominations for the Annual Crewe Town Council Civic Awards Scheme run until Sunday 7th February.  More information can be found at



footer logo
Our Location
A: Crewe Town Council Office, 
1 Chantry Court, Forge Street, 
Crewe, CW1 2DL
Contact Us
T: (01270) 756975
E: [email protected]