Councillor Nan Walton receives insignia of office as Crewe Town Mayor

On Tuesday 17th May 2022, Crewe Town Council elected its ninth Mayor at its Annual Town Council Meeting held at the Municipal Buildings, Crewe.

As part of the Annual Town Council meeting, Councillor Nan Walton was formally appointed as the new Mayor for the forthcoming twelve months. Councillor Dennis Straine-Francis was appointed as Deputy Mayor.

As outgoing Mayor, Councillor Tom Dunlop received a vote of thanks and was presented with a Past Mayor’s Medal.

Councillor Walton said: “Thank you to the Town Councillors for selecting me to be the Mayor of Crewe. I was born and bred in Crewe and love my town. I feel honoured to have this chance to help whoever and whenever I can. And that includes my beloved Crewe Alex, who I have supported for 72 years!”

Councillor Dunlop commented: “I would like to thank my fellow Councillors for giving me the opportunity to serve as Mayor. It has been a wonderful experience and one that I will always remember, I have met so many amazing people from all walks of life during my year in office. I hope my fellow Councillors will give my successor their full support.”

Groups, organisations, businesses or schools are welcome to invite the new Mayor or Deputy Mayor to attend their events or functions. Please contact [email protected] or call 01270 756975.

Cllr Walton and Cllr Dunlop

Cllr Walton presenting Cllr Dunlop with the Past Mayor’s Medal

footer logo
Our Location
A: Crewe Town Council Office, 
1 Chantry Court, Forge Street, 
Crewe, CW1 2DL
Contact Us
T: (01270) 756975
E: [email protected]